G.O. For Change

Changing people, places, and things one blog at a time…

Options Vs. Default Mode

with 3 comments

 

The dictionary defines “option” as the power or freedom to choose. The idea of having a choice ranges upon many different decisions- what type of mate shall I be with? What school should I go to? How many kids do I want?  Where to go for dinner? We are surrounded by constant opportunities to make a decision.

The word “default” is defined as “to fail to do what is required” (reread that). At times, we all default on something-loans, what to eat for dinner (you WERE going to cook, but it got late, and you didn’t feel like it), and other things, but we should realize that we often play a part in a situation’s failure or success.

For example, I have no problems with my job. While I think that there may be some things that can be changed, I really don’t have a problem with my job. If I did have a problem with my job- I mean, such a problem where I woke up like “man, I hate going to work”, then I would find another job-simple as that. No arguing, no huffing and or puffing- just looking and applying every day until I found one. The other day, I was at work, and here is the dialogue I had with one of the workers:

                Me: Good Morning, how are things going?

                She: Looking for a new job- I hate it here…..

                Me: What’s for lunch today?

I know some of you are like, why didn’t you counsel her? You want to know why? Because………..SHE SAYS IT EVERY WEEK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I literally want to say

  EVERYDAY!!! I mean really? I know some people that they can’t do what they WANT to do, but you can…its just that some people aren’t willing to do what it takes! The woman in the discussion above WANTS a new job, but is not willing to do something like, improver her education, so that she CAN get another job. She now is in default mode.

         Default mode isn’t a great place to be; I’m not talking about being patient, and waiting for an opportunity- I’m talking about realizing that you now are subject to whatever happens, and just taking it. Chances are, you know someone who is in default mode (and if you don’t, it’s probably you…). They appear disgruntled, unhappy, resistant to change- and just overall negative. Look at their Facebook posts; do they openly state their disdain for their job, friends and family, and spouses? When you talk to them and listen to their negativity, do you just want to

 I figured you did…even now, Vday is right around the corner…look at how may posts are going to be negative. I mean, how can you have resentment about a day that honors LOVE? (Answer: unless you were in default mode in regards to relationship)

 

Make sure that you identify if you have options, or you are in default mode. Here are some tips to help:

  • Are your goals lining up with what you are doing? If they are, great! If not, figure out what is going on, and what you can do.
  • In the event that you are in a situation that’s undesirable, what are you doing about it? If you are making plans, and executing, great! If not, figure out what your challenges are, and create a plan of action.
  • Are you aligning yourself with options? If yes, then great! If not, then start making some!

The key to getting out of default mode is to start making custom changes. If you have ever owned an Ipod, or other electronics, you will notice that as soon as you open it, it is in default mode. It is up to YOU to customize it to your liking…….much like LIFE! As always, thanks for reading.

Written by Garry O'Neal Jr.

February 13, 2011 at 6:12 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great read!!! I just mention on FB how everyone always has something negative to say in regards to things that they are lacking. People who don’t have a love this Valentine are bitter. They have a lot of negative comments about what others are enjoying. I agree ppl need to make their own changes to make their life how they want it.

    Troy Speights

    February 13, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  2. awesome. shame u can’t post this entire thing as a post on Facebook. some ppl really need to read that.

    loveablepsycho

    February 23, 2011 at 7:35 pm

  3. love the blog and the homer simpson feature. Then ther eare those that try to stay overly positive about something that recently happen to them and that you an tell that they are feeling bitter about it, but are frontin. people need some damn meds on FB

    greenafrodiva

    February 24, 2011 at 11:11 pm


Leave a Reply

