G.O. For Change

Changing people, places, and things one blog at a time…

Unconditional Happiness

with 3 comments

It is early Monday morning, and I am wide awake, and happy. Now, most people HATE Mondays, as they are coming off of their weekend (which, as I read through the various Facebook statuses, wasn’t really that great either), and have to start back to the normal hustle and bustle of the world.

The fact that people CHOOSE (yes, it’s a choice) to be grumpy on the first day of the week really boggles me. You do know that there is no deviation from the weekday listing right? I mean, after Sunday, it has ALWAYS been Monday, not a Thursday, or a Friday, its Sunday-Monday. So, why have negative feelings about something that comes every week?

I think that generally, I am a very light-hearted person; sure, I get angry at people and situations (i.e. if the Steelers ever win against my Baltimore Ravens), but usually I get over stuff pretty quickly. Why? I guess I contribute it to four things: faith, planning, humor, and unconditional happiness.

  • Faith: Faith is a pretty strong staple in my life. Does this mean I attend church as much as I should, or know all of the songs sang on Sunday’s Best? No, but I do believe in a Being higher than myself and with that, I am confident that any trouble/storm that comes my way, God will see me through it. Some people may feel that there is no “Higher Being”, and it is just us. Well, I think Albert Einstein (who really didn’t believe in the concept of God) put it best when he said “”I’d rather be an optimist and a fool than a pessimist and right.”
  • Planning: There is a saying in which I hold dear: “If you ask God to move a mountain, don’t be surprised if he hands you a shovel”. I always liked that, because it symbolizes having faith, but also being able to supply effort and work as well. I find that people who have less than a sunny disposition in life often have not completed, or even have
    goals to complete. I am not saying that people who have plans/goals don’t have feelings of frustration, but to have NOTHING to work towards seems downright preposterous! How can a person live happily if they have nothing to work for-it doesn’t have to be a huge goal (i.e., ending world hunger), it can be something like “getting to work on time”. We are allowed the PURSUIT of happiness- meaning, it is up to us to get it. Below is a real conversation that I had with a person who I felt as though emphasizes my point:

Them: I am really angry at things- I’m not in a relationship, I hate my job, I am overweight, and things just SUCK!

 Me: Well, how are you working towards getting these things taken care of? What’s your plan? I know that you aren’t in a relationship, but have you tried going out where people are? You may find people who are out there, as opposed the person of your dreams knocking on your door. You don’t like your job? Have you applied for other jobs?

 Them: I don’t go out; guys only want women who are “ho’s”. I do want another job, but my weight limits me from passing the physical for the job I want.

 Me: All guys don’t want “ho’s”; I am not saying that they don’t get attention, but the attention they get, I don’t think you want.  As far as getting as getting another job, do you see how you wanting to lose weight and passing the physical work hand and hand? If you use them as goals, I guarantee you that things won’t look as bad.

 Them: You don’t understand….

 So, you can see how there are things that can be done in this situation, but sometimes people rather complain at being unhappy, than actually DOING something about it.

  •  Humor: I think that I have a pretty good sense of humor. The ability to laugh and joke has a great influence on daily interactions. Don’t believe me? Try going a day without laughing or joking—sucks doesn’t it? Humor allows us to not take things so deathly serious, and gives us optimism in a situation so that we can say to ourselves, “let’s get back on track”. People who don’t find joy or humor in situations often have a dark cloud following them.
  • Unconditional Happiness: There are many things that we consider “unconditional”, but really are conditional ideas, with love topping the charts. We have seen movies where people say that they will love the person unconditionally….yeah right! Most times, unconditional things have a condition-if someone cheats, that may be a condition to break that love. What I mean by unconditional happiness, is the ability to be happy, regardless of the situation. We all can CHOOSE to be either happy or unhappy at any given time.
    Below is one of my favorite poems in terms of “unconditional happiness”;

Happiness is not the result of favorable conditions. That’s backwards. Favorable
conditions result from happiness. So what does it take to be happy? Nothing
more than a willingness to be happy.

Happiness comes from the way you respond to life. There are people who have every reason
to be miserable, but who still live with happiness and joy.

In every life, there is room for happiness. Everyone has challenges. Everyone has
disappointments. Yet they do not have to get you down. True happiness comes not
from the absence of problems. True, enduring happiness comes in spite of the
problems.

As always, thanks for reading. PS: It is pouring rain here in Baltimore today, and the only umbrella left in my house is my wife’s pink “Victoria Secret” umbrella….have a great day!

Written by Garry O'Neal Jr.

August 15, 2011 at 6:00 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW….this might hurt some ppl feelings but hey the “truth” hurts at times. The main thing in life is “FAITH”. If one has”FAITH” the rest will fall in order. I’m not just referring to “FAITH” in a higher being but “FAITH” in yourself and your actions. Having “FAITH” will help you not only develop a plan but help you implement and follow it through. This “FAITH” will help you see the humor in any obstacles or events along the way (good or bad). This “FAITH” will lead you to that unconditional happiness that everyone shall seek. Happiness is earned based on your actions. You are the only one that can really control your emotions.

    Troy Speights

    August 15, 2011 at 6:28 pm

  2. Its a marvelous masterpiece and I think eveyone who sees this link should take ten mins out of their day to real this blog. It answers all of your everyday struggles. After reading this powerful blog I felt as though I could do anything I put my mind too.

    roberto cartwright

    August 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

  3. I think my influence rubbed off on you.

    Monica

    August 15, 2012 at 4:33 pm


Leave a Reply

